Posted on

Planning the Summer Calendar

I am working on getting our summer calendar ready right now, and it is more challenging than I thought. I keep going back to the question, ‘why’? Why are we doing what we’re doing? If I plan a beach camp and summer mission trip, and a pool party; why? Why these events and not a variety of others. Why bother with them in the first place? Well I can tell you that part of the vision is to help our volunteer staff to connect with the teens and help them grow in their faith.

I guess I just didn’t realize how hard it would be to be a leader.

I am learning that I am not good at delegating responsibility, and I hold on to the things that I am doing. There is a fine line between taking ownership of something and being possessive over it.

I am a control freak I think.

Now I’m just rambling. At some point in the future (preferably at a time when I’m NOT sick and coughing up a lung) I am going to get organized in these posts and write something with some real meat, but for now they are simply random postings about Youth Ministry with no real substance or purpose. Just garble-gunk and gibberish.

So this Friday night we’re supposed to be having a bonfire for our Jr High group. I am excited about it, but I am nervous too because of how “under-the-weather” I have felt. Also, getting a pit for a bonfire isn’t easy this time of year!

This is just one big rant. Wow. I’ll work on that!

 

About Called to YM

I am a youth pastor in San Diego at a Church called The Grove. I am also the director of online training at Called To Youth Ministry. I love Jesus and I am totally committed to following him and his calling. I am married to the love of my life Joanna, she is an amazing partner in ministry and a wonderful woman.

Leave a Reply

